top of page

Shop small, shop independent

Hello my babytiful friends,

These days I’ve been very busy with Alma, as she has been sick a couple of times in the last month so I had to look after her more than ever. I’m so sad when I see her crying more than the habitual and with low energy. I just feel like being with her all the time, cuddling her and kissing her and playing with her.

Teether pacifier clip

We have just passed Black Friday and Cyber Monday, or what it has become now, the ‘Cyber week’. Most of the shops made big discounts so it was a great time so make the Christmas shopping, and save a little bit of money. Unfortunately, Babytiful didn’t make any ‘cyber’ discount as I didn’t have the proper time to prepare it (Alma has been sick and she is my P1) and also because I want to run a discount when people are less focus on the big business and are more mindful in buying from small shops and independent businesses.

I love the fact that the past week, I’ve seen several small businesses, run by families like mine, promoting the ‘GREEN FRIDAY’ and supporting each other. Waw, it fascinates me how we support each other and shout out there to do so. How beautiful is that?

I still remember the times when we were kids (ages ago, hahaha!) and all around us was handmade, crafty, local… I really miss that. I miss the smell of the fresh milk when I collected the milk from the shop in the village I grow up with my grandfather (Colmenar Viejo, in the north side of Madrid, close to the mountains); I miss making the Christmas decoration with sticks, leaves, flowers that I picked up with my parents; I miss going shopping to the small shops in my village and talking to the owners who explained all the benefits and features of the products; I miss that connection to a more personal experience.

Emma, who runs this great blog, made a post with a lot of links to small businesses, so I encourage you to read it and buy from our independent shops. This is the link:

https://www.littlehotdogwatson.com/blogs/little-diary/small-business-saturday-the-directory

Shop small, shop local

Every time someone buys from a small business, someone makes a great dance!! Let’s work together on bringing this spirit, all year around, and support the families and people behind those beautiful and great independent shops.

Let’s buy more mindfully, more local and generate more work opportunities in our living places.

Happy Green Year!

Love,

Carol

Featured Post
Recent Posts
Archive
 Tags
No tags yet.
Follow us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page