top of page

8 essential must have for first time breastfeeder

Hello my babytiful friends!

Hope you are having a great start of the week! For the first time I breastfed my little baby, I was wondering what would I really need to breastfeed her and be comfortable, as I wanted to have quality time and do not worry about anything else; and enjoy our moment as much as possible and make that moment magical!

breastfeeding baby

Here I put a list of what I consider essential for breastfeeding our little angels:

  • Water: prepare a bottle of water close to where you are going to breastfeed your baby, as you will feel thirsty! I used to keep a couple of bottles in some different spots in my house so I made sure I wouldn't miss it :-) also sometimes I was leaving a snack in case I felt hungry (ie nuts).

  • Multi-mam compress: they were far better that the balsam, and I could feel instant relief and they are so easy to use. They come in individual sachets and you just need to place them on the nipples. They are natural and have direct soothing effect when they are sore.

  • Breast pads: perfect for those leeks and keep the bra (and t-shirt!) dry.

  • Nursing bra: so easy to use and display only the needed area :-).

  • Breastfeeding pillow: you cannot imagine how comfy is to rest your arm (which is holding the head of your baby) on a nursing pillow!! best accessory ever. Believe me!You can evn buy a second one in case you don't want to spend a lot of money, you can find good ones on advert.ie.

  • The womanly art of breastfeeding book: this book is so great to read as they give you tips and information about breastfeeding. Its the perfect guide for this journey.

  • www.breasfeedingfriends.ie: a website full on information on this topic, where you can request a buddy through this website, and you will be able to ask questions.

  • Nursing necklace: they are so handy to have so the baby can be entertained while you feed them, so they don't pull your hair! you can find our babytiful range of necklaces here.

Now my daughter is 1 year old and I keep breastfeeding her, but not as much often as when she was when she was new-born, as she is having solid food as well, but we still enjoy it a lot! it has so many benefits for her and for me, but I keep that for another post!

Hope this post help you and you enjoy as much as we do!!

Have a great week!

Carol

"We are all teachers and students. Ask yourself, "What did I come here to learn, and what did I come here to teach?" Your loving relationships with others will teach you more than you could ever imagine"

Featured Post
Recent Posts
Archive
 Tags
No tags yet.
Follow us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page