top of page

The importance of MINDFULNESS

Good afternoon!!


Hope the week is going well. Weekend is almost here, though for me as a mum there is no difference between any day of the week, the only difference is that daddy is at home with us! Happy days!


Every day, regardless its Monday, Thursday, Saturday…, I try to be smiling, happy and cheerful, and above all, being grateful for all what I have in my life. It sounds weird, but at least I try ;) sometimes I know it costs, but its a mater of training the mindind, that is, just as we train our body to be in shape, we also have to train our thoughts to be positive. Remember: We are what we eat and also what we think.


Today I want to talk about mindfulness, have you heard about it? It is all about enjoying themoment, HERE and NOW. Its all about living the present leaving aside the past that has passed and the future that does not exist.

To live the moments with full consciousness, for example you can practice mindfulness while having breakfast, where you can be aware of the food you are eating, enjoying the act of having breakfast, savouring the food ... If you have breakfast not being full consciousness, your mind would fire in the first minute telling you how many things you have to do or all the worries you have...


I always try to avoid all the 'noise' of my thoughts that caught my attention so I enjoy everything I do.


There are so many benefits of meditation in our life:


• Helps increase attention

• Reduces the emotional impact of pain

• Helps to relax

• Improves cognitive abilities

• Reduces your chance of having a heart attack by 50%

• It is related to increased activity of telomerase, an important enzyme for the long-term health of cells in the body

• Increases the thickness of the brain

• Relieves fatigue and depression

• Boosts brain connectivity


And it is that in life, everything has its moment.


Since I practice mindfulness, my life has changed, I see things differently, but above all I fully enjoy acts like having breakfast ;-)

There are even schools where mindfulness is practised!! which is great!


For example, a primary school in Limerick has introduced mindfulness to its curriculum this week, with a focus on learning the benefits of calmness in the classroom. The initiative is part of Wellness Week at Corpus Christi School in Moyross.


You can find the full article here under:

http://www.rte.ie/news/player/2017/0203/21125774-primary-school-in-limerick-introducing-mindfulness-to-its-curriculum-this-week/


VIdeo from RTE:

https://www.facebook.com/rtenews/videos/vb.257558294273180/1564738796888450/?type=2&theater


Hope you have a great and mindful weekend!

Carol


“Mindfulness isn’t difficult, we just need to remember to do it.” ~Sharon Salzberg

Featured Post
Recent Posts
Archive
 Tags
No tags yet.
Follow us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page